King Alcohol

Rüdiger Carl Inc.

King Alcohol


Recorded for the German FMP label in 1972, this is one of the landmark recordings of free jazz in Europe, a mind-blowing studio session featuring Carl on tenor saxophone, Günter Christmann on trombone, and the astonishing Detlef Schonenberg on drums. Volatile and precise, anticipating much of the future sound of free music in Europe but also paying homage to American antecedents like Roswell Rudd and Archie Shepp, King Alcohol is truly a lost jewel. This is its first time on CD, remastered from the original tapes, and featuring a full disc of newly discovered, previously unreleased bonus tracks. Reproducing the insanely rare first-pressing cover with its black and white line drawing by Carl himself.

1. King Alcohol (Carl/11:45)
2. Thrombose (Christmann/8:24)
3. Aeiou (Schönenberg/6:12)
4. a) Rush-Hour (Carl)
b) Something? (Schönenberg)
c) Triotrip (Christmann)
(total time: 13:09)

Unreleased tracks:
1. KA Alt #1 (9:33)
2. KA Alt #2 (12:24)
3. KA Alt #3 (11:19)
4. KA Alt #4 (6:40)
5. KA Alt #5 (4:28)
6. KA Alt #6 (9:56)
7. KA Alt #7 (15:59)

Rüdiger Carl, tenor saxophone
Günter Christmann, trombone
Detlef Schönenberg, drums

Tracks 1-4c originally released on FMP (FMP 0060, 1973). All other tracks previously unreleased.
Recorded by Eberhard Sengpiel at Akadamie der Künste, Berlin, on January 12, 1972.
LP produced by Rüdiger Carl and Regina Schönenberg, supervised by Jost Gebers.
LP design by Rüdiger Carl.
Remastered by Alex Inglezian at Experimental Sound Studio, Chicago.
CD design by David Giordano. Publication editor, Corbett vs. Dempsey, Emily Letourneau. CD produced by John Corbett.